A World Without Infectious Disease

A global mission

We were founded with the mission of creating a world without infectious disease.

We are a commercial-stage immunology company focused on combining immunologic insights with cutting-edge technologies to treat and prevent serious infectious diseases. Infectious diseases are one of the leading causes of death worldwide and the cause of hundreds of billions of dollars of economic burden each year. We believe that now is the time to apply the recent and remarkable advances in immunology to combat infectious diseases. Our approach begins with identifying the limitations of the immune system in combating a particular pathogen, the vulnerabilities of that pathogen and the reasons why previous approaches have failed. We then bring to bear powerful technologies that we believe, individually or in combination, will lead to effective therapies.

We are taking a multi-program, multi-technology platform approach, assembled through internal development, collaborations, and acquisitions.

We have an industry-leading management team, board of directors and scientific advisors with significant experience in immunology and infectious diseases, and with progressing product candidates from early stage research to clinical trials, regulatory approval and ultimately commercialization.

Guided by science, we relentlessly build on our immunologic expertise and technologies in pursuit of transformative medicines for infectious diseases. Our innovations stem from courage and bold ideas. We approach each day with a sense of optimism and humility, recognizing that our strength resides in the diversity of our journeys and the opportunity to learn from each other.

Join Us


Management Team

George Scangos photo

George Scangos, Ph.D.
President, Chief Executive Officer and Director

Aine Hanly photo

Aine Hanly, Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer 

Howard Horn photo

Howard Horn
Chief Financial Officer

Bolyn Hubby photo

Bolyn Hubby, Ph.D.
Chief Corporate Affairs Officer

Lynne Krummen photo

Lynne Krummen
Senior Vice President, Regulatory and Development Program Leadership and Management

Antonio Lanzavecchia photo

Antonio Lanzavecchia, M.D.
Senior Vice President and Senior Research Fellow

Phil Pang photo

Phil Pang, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Medical Officer

Irene Pleasure photo

Irene Pleasure, J.D., Ph.D.
Senior Vice President, General Counsel

Steven Rice photo

Steven Rice
Chief Administrative Officer

Herbert Virgin photo

Herbert (Skip) Virgin, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Vice President, Research and Chief Scientific Officer

Board of Directors

George Scangos photo

George Scangos, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer AND Director

Bob More photo

Robert More

Janet Napolitano photo

Janet Napolitano

Robert Nelsen photo

Robert Nelsen
Director AND Co-founder

Rob Perez photo

Robert Perez

Saira Ramasastry photo

Saira Ramasastry

Scientific Advisors

Jeff Bluestone photo

Jeff Bluestone, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor

Frank Chisari photo

Francis V. Chisari, M.D.
Scientific Advisor

Larry Corey photo

Larry Corey, M.D.
Scientific Advisor AND Co-founder

Tom Daniel photo

Tom Daniel, M.D.
Scientific Advisor

Mark Davis photo

Mark Davis, Ph.D
Scientific Advisor

Emilio Emini photo

Emilio Emini, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor

Klaus Frueh photo

Klaus Frueh, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor AND Co-founder

Susanna Naggie photo

Susanna Naggie, M.D.
Scientific Advisor

Louis Picker photo

Louis Picker, M.D.
Scientific Advisor AND Co-founder

George Poste photo

George Poste, DVM, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor

Jeffrey Ravetch photo

Jeffrey V. Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor

Charlie Rice photo

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor